Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


McNamara undergoes surgery

Published 15/03/2013 | 15:27

JT McNamara suffered two fractured vertebrae in his neck
JT McNamara suffered two fractured vertebrae in his neck

JT McNamara has undergone surgery on the serious neck injury he sustained in a fall at Cheltenham on Thursday.

The 37-year-old was injured in a first fence fall from Galaxy Rock in the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup.

McNamara, one of the leading amateurs on the circuit for a number of years, was airlifted to hospital after being treated by the on-course medics.

Conscious following the fall according to officials at the track, he was put in an induced coma before his transfer to Frenchay Hospital in Bristol.

Dr Adrian McGoldrick, chief medical officer of the Irish Turf Club, has issued an update on the rider and his condition remains serious but stable.

McGoldrick said: "We can confirm that amateur rider JT McNamara suffered two fractured vertebrae in his neck.

"He is currently in theatre at Frenchay Hospital in Bristol. There will be no further news until tomorrow and we will keep everyone updated.

"His wife Caroline is with him."

Cheltenham, the British Horseracing Authority and Jonjo O'Neill, the trainer of Galaxy Rock, have agreed the Injured Jockeys Fund will issue further information on the rider's condition when appropriate.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport