Sport

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


McDowell hoping for windy weather

Published 17/07/2014 | 17:13

Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell was frustrated with his start at the Open Championship
Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell was frustrated with his start at the Open Championship

Graeme McDowell relished the prospect of foul weather after a frustrating start to his Open Championship challenge at Hoylake.

The Ulsterman failed to take advantage of benign conditions and carded a two-over-par 74 on the first day at Royal Liverpool.

But with the forecast more unsettled for the coming days, McDowell hopes the weather can help level the playing field with his links experience coming to the fore.

The 2010 US Open champion said: "I'm needing some windy conditions right now, so bring it on. Bring on the stuff now.

"With the conditions they're forecasting the next couple of days, especially tomorrow, it means that I don't have to go and beat myself up today.

"I can prepare myself for the conditions tomorrow and level par, one under par sort of gets me back in the mix a little bit.

"That's kind of what I'm trying to tell myself right now."

McDowell reached the turn in one under but a double bogey seven at the 10th, when he shot into spectators on the left, tainted his scorecard.

The 34-year-old said: "It was a disappointing start to the back nine. I played fairly solid on the front.

"Take 10 out of the equation and I'd be - not content, but a lot happier than I am right now.

"I can't really get too down on myself. It's close. It just didn't happen today."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport