Sport

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


McDonogh: trip will suit Cloud

Published 27/06/2013 | 17:04

Little White Cloud (left)
Little White Cloud (left)

Jockey Declan McDonogh expects an "improved" Little White Cloud to benefit from the step up in trip in Saturday's Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby at the Curragh.

  • Go To

McDonogh, in his first season as stable jockey to Little White Cloud's trainer John Oxx, feels a mile and a half should be well within the son of Dalakhani's compass.

Having won a Dundalk maiden in November, the grey has finished third in the Derrinstown Derby Trial and second in the Gallinule Stakes, where he was behind subsequent Royal Ascot winner Leading Light.

"Stepping up to a mile and a half should really suit him being from the same family as Millenary and all those good stayers," McDonogh told At The Races.

"He put up a good show against Leading Light, who went and won the Queen's Vase. He's tough and he handles fast ground, so hopefully they won't get too much rain. I think he'll run a good race.

"He wasn't far behind Battle Of Marengo (in the Derrinstown) and we think he's improved a lot since then, the trip should be right up his street and he should run a good race."

Johnny Murtagh, now a trainer as well as still a leading jockey, won on two of O'Brien's winners, Fame And Glory and Cape Blanco, as well as Oxx's Alamshar, and he has a sneaking feeling Little White Cloud could outrun his odds, but thinks the favourite will be hard to beat.

"I think it's an open enough Derby, there's a couple of horses there with not much between them," said Murtagh.

"The Godolphin horse (Libertarian) has a few lengths to make up on Aidan's, obviously, but Aidan's horses always seem to improve a little bit when they get back to the Curragh.

"Little White Cloud is a horse I rode for John and I always thought he was an Irish Derby horse, a mile and a half, fast ground, the Curragh - that might suit him. Whether he's good enough to win it, I don't know, but he'll run a good race."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport