Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Magnier backs Australia to shine

Published 26/05/2014 | 13:57

Australia (right)
Australia (right)

Coolmore supremo John Magnier claims "Ballydoyle would be surprised" if Australia did not win the Investec Derby.

Trainer Aidan O'Brien repeated his view earlier this month that the colt could be the best Epsom candidate he has ever fielded, and Australia remains a warm market leader after his encouraging third in the 2000 Guineas.

There has, though, been good recent money for stablemate Geoffrey Chaucer, who is now a clear second favourite.

Magnier told At The Races: "Aidan has made no secret of what we think about Australia and, as far as I know from talking to him recently, nothing has changed in that view.

"But having said that, Geoffrey Chaucer was a big price, and a good each-way price for the Derby.

"But I would say the people in Ballydoyle would be surprised if Australia didn't win, but racing's not that straightforward always.

"It's no secret that we hold this horse in really high esteem and I'd say we wouldn't swap with him with any other horse, obviously."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport