Lynam turns on Jubilee power
Published 21/06/2014 | 19:37
Owner Sabena Power and trainer Eddie Lynam completed the remarkable feat of winning both of Royal Ascot's Group One sprints with two different horses.
Sole Power had quickly been ruled out of the Diamond Jubilee Stakes as he was tired from his success in Tuesday's King's Stand, but the two years younger, but unrelated, Slade Power was more than ready to step into his shoes.
The only difference was it was Wayne Lordan in the saddle rather than Richard Hughes, and the 7-2 favourite was ridden more prominently and to less dramatic effect than the fast-finishing Sole Power, but it was the same outcome as he strongly repelled Due Diligence and obliged by a length and a half.
As Sole Power is the five-furlong specialist and Slade Power has his first top-level victory at six, it would appear easy for Lynam to keep them apart, but they will meet once again in next month's Darley July Cup at Newmarket. The junior member took third and the old man fifth in last season's renewal.
It prompted joyous celebrations for Irish bookmaking family the Powers, with this ranking as a similar achievement to that of the Australian Choisir, who collected both races in 2003, a year after the Diamond Jubilee had been promoted to a Group One.
The family have just a handful horses at Lynam's County Meath stable, while the trainer had also won Wednesday's Queen Mary Stakes with Anthem Alexander.
"This one's very special as we bred him," said Lynam. "They're special owners, and I'm lucky to have special staff, special horses and a great family to back me up. It's just a coincidence, I've got two very good horses and they'll both run in the July Cup. Sole Power will wear the first colours as he's the elder statesman and the stable pet.
"Trainers get 10 per cent (of prize-money) for a reason - it's only 10 per cent to do with us. It's been a great week and there is nowhere I like winning more than here. I love the place."
Power's son, Paddy, added: "This is the family week of all time. Two Royal Ascot winners - it just doesn't happen. We were quite confident he'd come on from his first run at the Curragh. It's very special."
They had to wait to celebrate as a stewards' inquiry was called, but the result was quickly confirmed.
Lordan, who got a one-day careless riding ban, said: "He travelled real well, I got there a little bit soon and he rolled around with me, but I had plenty left and I'm delighted. It feels great. We don't come across these horses too often that can come and compete, and when they win it's even better."
Press AssociationFollow @IndoSport