Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Lions picture spurs on O'Driscoll

Published 07/02/2013 | 07:51

Brian O'Driscoll is excited about the prospect of being a Lion again
Brian O'Driscoll is excited about the prospect of being a Lion again

Brian O'Driscoll may have delivered an emphatic "absolutely not" when asked if he had given any thought to the Lions captaincy, but the looming tour to Australia is still capturing his imagination.

The Ireland centre has been installed as favourite to regain the post he filled in New Zealand eight years ago following his starring role in Saturday's 30-22 RBS 6 Nations victory over Wales.

"There's more chat about the Lions now, more column inches. Every week there are new Lions teams for that week," he said.

England's visit to Dublin this weekend offers another opportunity to see off a rival at outside centre for the Test series against the Wallabies, with Manu Tuilagi his likely opposite number eight days after Welshman Jonathan Davies was outclassed.

High praise greeted his performance in the championship opener at the Millennium Stadium, but O'Driscoll is far too seasoned a campaigner to take notice of the shifting sands of armchair Lions selection.

"You're not even flavour of the month now, you're flavour of the moment," he continued. "It's not just one month on, one month off, now this is happening weekly and daily. You're in the frame, then you're gone, forgotten about.

"You have to take it all with a pinch of salt. I like to think I am a decent judge of whether I'm in the mix or not.

"It's a huge honour to be a Lion - among the top 35 players in the four nations.

"It is definitely an added incentive in the Six Nations in a Lions year, so you get your performances to as high a level as you can."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport