Sport

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Limerick County Board hit back at Donal O'Grady over resignation

Published 22/04/2014 | 14:29

TJ Ryan (left) will take over as manager for the rest of the season
TJ Ryan (left) will take over as manager for the rest of the season

The Limerick County Board has hit back at Donal O'Grady after his decision to quit his post as joint Limerick manager on Sunday evening via voicemail and confirmed that TJ Ryan will take over the Munster Champions for the remainder of the Championship.

  • Go To

Ryan's co-manager Donal O'Grady stepped down because the county board did not retract or clarify statements they had made alleging that the team management had apologised for their National League performances.

In a statement released today, the County Board said they were disappointed with O'Grady's decision especially because "efforts were ongoing to finalise an agreed statement clarifying matters arising from the April County Board meeting".

The statement read: "The Management Committee of Limerick County Board convened last night to discuss the resignation of Donal O’Grady as joint manager of Limerick Senior Hurling Team.

"The Chairman expressed his disappointment at the decision particularly so when efforts were ongoing to finalise an agreed statement clarifying matters arising from the April County Board meeting.

"The Chairman confirmed that the draft statement had included a statement confirming that the joint managers had never apologised for the performance against Offaly, however they had accepted full accountability and taken full responsibility for failing to achieve league promotion.

"Unfortunately Donal O’Grady was reluctant to agree the statement or engage with a third party intermediary to finalise an agreed statement. In the end he choose to resign his position and informed the Chairman by voicemail before 10pm on Sunday night last.

"Management decided unanimously to confirm TJ Ryan as manager with selectors Mark Lyons and Paul Beery until the conclusion of this year’s championship. It was also agreed that the Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer in consultation with the team management would identify and appoint a hurling coach as a priority.

"County Management confirmed their full confidence in the management and team and reaffirmed that every support required to prepare for the Munster Championship will be made available to the management and team."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport