Sport

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Light passes Trial test

Published 24/08/2014 | 18:51

Leading Light forges clear under Joseph O'Brien
Leading Light forges clear under Joseph O'Brien

Aidan O'Brien's Gold Cup hero Leading Light made the perfect return to action in the Palmerstown House Estate Irish St Leger Trial Stakes at the Curragh.

  • Go To

Given a break since his efforts at Royal Ascot, last year's Doncaster St Leger winner was shouldering 10st against a useful field, but in the end just needed to be kept up to his work to win by Joseph O'Brien after hitting the front a furlong out.

The front-running Shu Lewis missed out for second by a short head as Royal Diamond finished off the race very well, but Leading Light (2-5 favourite) was never in danger once he got to the front and won by a length and a quarter.

The Montjeu colt took his career record to eight wins from 10 starts, having been beaten only on his two-year-old debut and in the Arc.

O'Brien snr said: "I'm delighted with that. He's had a good break since Ascot. We let him down well after that and it's nice to get him started back.

"He came here two weeks ago for a canter to wake him up a bit. He should come on nicely from that as he's giving a good blow.

"The (Irish) Leger falls lovely in the second half of the season for him. I don't know where he'll go after that but the main thing is the lads would like him back for Ascot next year.

"He ran in the Arc last year, but was back a long way. They'll decide where he goes."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport