Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

REPORT

Wales WAL 1

Northern Ireland NIR 0

REPORT

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Leverkusen striker Kiessling shuts down facebook account over 'phantom goal' abuse

Published 31/10/2013 | 13:48

Bayer Leverkusen striker Stefan Kiessling is still dealing with the effects of the 'phantom goal' he scored against Hoffenheim earlier this month despite the German federation ruling against a replay of the encounter.

Last season's Bundesliga top scorer had to shut down his Facebook page on Wednesday to end continued verbal abuse by people who thought he should have told the referee the ball had gone in through the side netting in their 2-1 win at Hoffenheim.

"There is a bit of concern because you do not know what else can happen and when it will finally stop," Kiessling told Bild newspaper on Thursday.

"There were moments when I cursed the goal and wished I could turn back the clock."

Kiessling's 70th-minute header flew just wide of the post and hit the side netting but went through a hole and ended up in the goal.

Referee Felix Brych awarded a goal after consulting his assistants, putting Leverkusen 2-0 ahead at the time and triggering an outcry over the mistake and the need for goalline technology in Germany, a tool already in use in other domestic and international competitions.

"I had problems sleeping because of the whole situation surrounding this header," said the former Germany international.

"At the end we were awarded the three points. It is just a difficult situation."

Champions League competitors Leverkusen, who are third in the Bundesliga, one point off leaders Bayern Munich, travel to Eintracht Braunschweig on Saturday.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport