Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Video: New Zealand's Tall Blacks' haka leaves the USA basketball team bemused

Published 04/09/2014 | 18:53

USA basketball team were left looking baffled after New Zealand's players performed the traditional Maori war dance challenge during a pre-game warm-up
USA basketball team were left looking baffled after New Zealand's players performed the traditional Maori war dance challenge during a pre-game warm-up

The eye-rolling, foot-stomping Maori challenge, known as the "Ka Mate" or haka, is an integral part of the international rugby landscape and has been performed by the All Blacks before Test matches since 1905.

But when New Zealand's basketball team, aptly named the Tall Blacks, performed it at the World Championships in Bilbao, Spain, they were met with bemusement and worried looks from the American team, clearly unfamiliar with the traditional war dance challenge.

Despite the intimidating start, Team USA recovered their composure enough to beat New Zealand, 98-71 and win their third preliminary-round game

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport