UEFA orders re-take of penalty - five days after match
In an amazing U-turn, UEFA have announced that England's U-19 women's side will get the opportunity to replay the closing seconds of their European qualifier against Norway, starting with a controversial penalty.
Mo Marley's side were handed a lifeline in the 96th minute when awarded a spot kick and despite Leah Williamson hitting the back of the net, German referee Marija Kurtes disallowed the goal for encroachment and wrongly awarding an indirect free-kick.
A statement on the UEFA website, who originally said that Norway had qualified, revealed that this was a mistake and that the game should be restarted tonight with the re-take of the disallowed goal.
England were 2-1 down at the time in the game played on April 4 and interestingly, if the penalty is successfully converted, England will qualify for the tournament which is to be played in July.
What pressure there will be on Williamson as the Arsenal prospect looks to slot home the most important goal of her young career. The world will be watching and waiting, not for long of course, but it certainly is a unique occasion.
The unusual turn of events has certainly caused a Twitter storm with people rightly questioning whether anything like this would ever be allowed to happen in the men's equivalent and if UEFA are now setting a dangerous precedent.