Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Lac Fontana gives emotional Daryl Jacob a deserved success in the County

Tom Peacock

Published 14/03/2014 | 14:47

Jockey Daryl Jacob on board Lac Fontana after winning the Vincent O'Brien County Handicap Hurdle during Cheltenham Gold Cup Day at Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham. PRESS ASSOCIATION Photo. Picture date: Friday March 14, 2014. See PA story RACING Cheltenham. Photo credit should read: David Davies/PA Wire
Jockey Daryl Jacob on board Lac Fontana after winning the Vincent O'Brien County Handicap Hurdle during Cheltenham Gold Cup Day at Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham. PRESS ASSOCIATION Photo. Picture date: Friday March 14, 2014. See PA story RACING Cheltenham. Photo credit should read: David Davies/PA Wire

Lac Fontana gave Paul Nicholls and Daryl Jacob a belated first winner of the Festival with a thrilling victory in the Vincent O'Brien County Handicap Hurdle at Cheltenham.

Jacob produced Lac Fontana (11-1) with a perfectly-timed run on the nearside rail to collar Arctic Fire up the hill and land the spoils by half a length.

Montbazon, who led over the final flight, was a length back in third with Diakali fourth.

Jacob, who had no luck at all in the Triumph Hurdle on the well-fancied Calipto and was visibly deflated afterwards, as he was when just touched off on Wednesday, said: "It's been a very testing week for us all.

"It's a good team effort from everyone and at the end of the day there can only be one winner. You can only keep looking forward.

"We're all thinking about the guys that are injured, like Jason (Maguire), Bryan (Cooper), now Ruby (Walsh) and of course JP (McNamara) but this is the place we all want to win."

He added of the winner: "He's very, very tough and he kept finding all the way."

Nicholls said: "It's been so frustrating (trying to get a winner during the week). Daryl probably needed that more than anyone really, he was on a real down and that will be just what he wanted.

"I told him to just get out there, put everything behind him and that this will win, you have to be positive.

"I told him he'll stay on up the hill and he gave him a peach.

"He's quite an emotional guy and you need a bit of luck, he'll be a different rider now.

"That was magic, just what we wanted."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport