Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Glimpsing Eiffel Tower as we rode into Paris was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen, says Paul Kimmage

Published 22/07/2013 | 11:10

“WE’LL always have Paris,” says Paul Kimmage in his final exclusive video diary from the Tour de France 2013.

  • Go To

Kimmage reminisces about riding in the Tour in 1986 where he describes catching sight of the Eiffel Tower as the peloton hit Paris as “one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen and one of the happiest days of my life”.

His medal for finishing the Tour that year is the “most precious thing I have of all my cycling trophies”.

As the 100th edition of the Tour drew to a close in the French capital yesterday, Kimmage was among hundreds of finishers from history who were invited to watch the finale from a special grandstand.

He describes feeling like the “mouton noir” – or black sheep – among his fellow cyclists because the clashes he’s had with them over the years as a journalist writing about drugs in the sport.

As Kimmage signs off on his video diary, which has attracted a huge viewership on Independent.ie throughout the Tour, he jokingly muses on whether he’ll be again for the 101th Tour: “See you again next year? I don’t know about that...”

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport