Saturday 31 January 2015

Kerry legend Mick O'Dwyer among four inductees to the GAA Museum Hall of Fame

Published 02/04/2014 | 13:40

Mick O’Dwyer, with match programme rolled up in his hand, enjoys his eight and final All-Ireland final victory as Kerry manager after Kerry beat Tyrone in the 1986 final

Kerry great Mick O'Dwyer is among four former players inducted into the GAA Museum Hall of Fame for 2014 at a ceremony in Croke Park today.

Former greats O’Dwyer, Waterford hurler Pat McGrath, Kilkenny’s Noel Skehan and Sligo footballer Michael Kearins have become the second group of former players to receive the awards since the inaugural event last year.

“These four individuals illuminated their respective codes, setting consistently sky high standards that thrilled crowds and highlighted the great attributes of our games," said GAA President Liam Ó Néill.

“I hope this acknowledgement helps shine a light on their efforts over many years to generations who were not lucky enough to witness first-hand the skills they brought to bear on the game.”

During his playing days with Kerry, O'Dwyer won four All-Ireland and seven league titles before he took over as manager of the Kingdom and plundered eight Sam Maguire wins, including four in a row from 1978-81.

He brought Leinster titles to both Kildare and Laois and also had stints with Wicklow and Clare.

Goalkeeper Noel Skehan enjoyed a 22-year senior inter-county career with Kilkenny which yielded nine All-Ireland senior titles, eight Leinster titles, three National Hurling Leagues and four Railway Cups with Leinster.

Pat McGrath starred in defence for Waterford for 16 years after his debut in 1970. He played inter-provincial hurling with Munster, winning two Railway Cups in 1976 and 1978 and played his club hurling with the famous Mount Sion club, winning seven Waterford senior championships.

His sons Ken and Eoin were key member of the Waterford team in more recent years.

Forward Micheál Kearins played senior inter-county football with Sligo for 18 consecutive years from the early 60s to the late 70s.

In 1971 he became the first Sligo player to be awarded an All Star, and in '75 he was instrumental in Sligo winning the Connacht Senior Football Championship for the first time in 47 years.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport