Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kelly hits back in Trapattoni row

Published 08/02/2013 | 13:56

Stephen Kelly did not play in Ireland's win over Poland on Wednesday night
Stephen Kelly did not play in Ireland's win over Poland on Wednesday night

Ireland defender Stephen Kelly has hit back at suggestions by manager Giovanni Trapattoni that he only wanted to join up with the squad if he was guaranteed to play.

The 29-year-old full-back was not in Dublin for Wednesday night's 2-0 friendly victory over Poland despite the absence of the injured Richard Dunne, Sean St Ledger, Seamus Coleman and Darren O'Dea, with the latter excused to continue his pre-season preparations with Major League Soccer side Toronto FC.

Asked about his absence, Trapattoni said: "You know what happened in the situation with Kelly? 'I play or I go home'". A furious Kelly responded on Friday morning by issuing a statement in which he reaffirmed his commitment to his country. He said: "It is extremely disappointing for me to have to make this statement."

The Reading player added: "I am simply shocked and disgusted with the untrue and unwarranted comments made by Giovanni Trapattoni.

"These hurtful and untrue comments have caused distress and upset to myself and my family, who have supported me throughout my career and know the level of commitment and passion I have always shown in representing my country.

"I have proudly represented Ireland from the age of 16, and I have never shown anything other than 100 per cent commitment to my country and my team.

"I cannot and will not tolerate attempts to defame my commitment and loyalty to Ireland.

"Representing Ireland at senior international level has given me some of my proudest moments in my professional career, and for me captaining my country will always be my greatest achievement.

"It saddens me greatly that I should have to defend my good character and reputation in a profession I love. However, I refuse to allow anyone to question my passion for representing Ireland. I will continue as always to proudly be available for my country."

Kelly, who has 32 senior caps, was a surprise omission from the squad when it was announced last month, although the mild-mannered former Fulham player is understood to have had a major disagreement with Trapattoni's assistant, Marco Tardelli, after being left out of the team for the 6-1 World Cup qualifying defeat to Germany at the Aviva Stadium in October.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport