Sport

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Keith Wood: Rob Penney’s comments were naïve, but irrelevant

Published 28/03/2014 | 08:51

Keith Wood has labelled Rob Penney's comments as 'naïve'.
Keith Wood has labelled Rob Penney's comments as 'naïve'.

Keith Wood says Rob Penney’s comments in the build-up to Saturday’s Leinster and Munster clash were naïve, but will have little impact on the match itself.

The New Zealander's billing has dominated the build-up to the sold-out Aviva Stadium clash, suggesting that his side will be up against the ‘Six Nations champions’, but the former Munster hooker says the comment will have little impact on proceedings on the pitch.

“In some ways it was a naïve comment,” Wood conceded on Newstalk Breakfast this morning.

“It has been more of a media storm and it’s become something that isn’t really relevant.”

Wood is eagerly looking forward to the fixture between the top-two in the league.

“It’s one of the most important fixtures of the season. It’s make or break for both sides,” he added.

After 17 games of the season, Matt O'COnnor's men sit two points clear of Munster at the top of the table, with Ulster three points adrift of Rob Penney's outfit.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport