Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Keith Earls and Marty Moore to miss Argentina tour as Joe Schmidt confirms John Plumtree exit

Published 01/06/2014 | 16:02

There was big news at Ireland's press conference after Joe Schmidt confirmed that forwards coach John Plumtree will leave his management setup after the summer tour of Argentina.

Plumtree, who has earned plenty of plaudits for Ireland's forward displays in the Six Nations and the evolution of their driving maul, will return to his native New Zealand.

The New Zealander, who joined Ireland last September and worked with the national side during the 2013 Guinness Series and the victorious 2014 RBS 6 Nations Championship, is to return to his homeland with his family.

It has been reported the 48-year-old has already accepted a coaching job with the Wellington Hurricanes.

John Plumtree, said, "I have really enjoyed working with Joe, Les and the players over the last few months.  But at the end of the day family must come first and we must do what we think is best for the Plumtree family.  I would like to thank the IRFU for their understanding and wish everyone involved in Irish rugby the best of luck for the future.”

Ireland Team Manager, Michael Kearney commented, "The Ireland National Rugby Team and Management would like to thank John for his contribution to the team's success over the past season.  We are sad to see him go but our best wishes are with John and his family on their return to New Zealand.”

Their was also injury news with Keith Earls (viral infection) and Marty Moore (toe injury) ruled out of the tour to be replaced by Leinster's Noel Reid and Connacht prop Rodney Ah You.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport