Sport

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Keane linked to Villa role

Published 03/06/2014 | 10:22

Roy Keane could be set to move back into club football
Roy Keane could be set to move back into club football

Roy Keane has held talks over becoming Paul Lambert's assistant at Aston Villa, Press Association Sport understands.

Keane held an informal meeting with Lambert last month with a view to replacing Ian Culverhouse, who was dismissed by the club following an internal investigation.

It is understood Lambert would be happy for Keane to continue in his role as number two to Ireland boss Martin O'Neill if he were to take the Villa role.

Keane is due to link back up with the Ireland squad in Dublin late on Tuesday before flying out on Wednesday for their two-game tour of the United States.

Earlier this week, Keane indicated he did not wish to be considered as a potential replacement for Neil Lennon at Celtic.

A source close to the club told Press Association Sport Keane had "asked not to be considered for the position".

Lambert is keen to get a permanent assistant on board as he rebuilds following Villa's disappointing 15th-placed finish last season.

The Villa job would offer Keane a route back into domestic management for the first time since he left Ipswich in January 2011.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport