Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jose Mourinho claims it is 'impossible' for Blues to overhaul PSG lead

Steve Tongue

Published 07/04/2014 | 12:18

Jose Mourinho
Jose Mourinho

Feigning weariness at having to address so many media conferences, Jose Mourinho is at least maintaining a consistent line in limiting expectations: the Premier League table lies, because of Manchester City’s games in hand; and by conceding a late third goal away to Paris Saint-Germain last Wednesday, Chelsea have given themselves a near impossible task to reach the semi-final of the Champions League tomorrow.

  • Go To

Whatever is said for public consumption, the message in the Chelsea dressing room will be rather more upbeat. Mourinho knows that if they keep a clean sheet, a side devoid of what he has called “real strikers” is still capable of scoring twice to qualify on away goals.

Saturday’s 3-0 demolition of an unexpectedly feeble Stoke City to maintain a modicum of pressure on Liverpool and City was good preparation in being so undemanding, producing no new injuries and reasserting a positive mood after successive defeats by Crystal Palace and PSG.

All it lacked was a first league goal in three months for Fernando Torres, who will have to start tomorrow’s game as Samuel Eto’o is still unfit. “The team picks itself,” Mourinho said.

That means no Mohamed Salah or Nemanja Matic, both excellent against Stoke but ineligible.

If the starting XI need inspiration, they can take it from Chelsea’s recovery from 3-1 down against Napoli two years ago to win the second leg  4-1 after extra time.

Mourinho can also look back at last season’s semi-final in which his Real Madrid side came close to retrieving a 4-1 deficit against Borussia Dortmund.

So it was not entirely convincing to hear him describe Tuesday’s task as “almost the impossible job”, and he was prepared to agree that the occasion, at a packed Stamford Bridge, “can be special for sure”.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport