Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Joe Schmidt: Both sides have real room for improvement

Published 08/06/2014 | 16:54

Ireland winger Simon Zebo is tackled by Rodrigo Baez of Argentina. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE
Ireland winger Simon Zebo is tackled by Rodrigo Baez of Argentina. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt was pleased with the way his men fashioned their first ever win in Argentina but believes they will need to step up for the second and concluding test next weekend.

Schmidt's men were well worth their 29-17 win in Resistencia when tries from Chris Henry, Jonathan Sexton and Andrew Trimble saw them home.

Schmidt and his men will analyse the individual performances this week but he was pleased with the effort overall.

"It is very hard to say at first glance," Schmidt said.

"You are more team orientated in your analysis of a game during the match so to really get that individual flavour of delivery, we'll have to wait until we've had bit of a look at it.

"But there were some guys that did some very good things."

Ulster flanker Robbie Diack made his debut in the back row and the Connacht pair Kieran Marmion and Rodney Ah You made their international bows off the bench.

Schmidt is now turning his attention to the second test in Tucuman on Saturday evening when the Six Nations champions will bring the curtain down on their season.

"I think both teams have real room for improvement some of their young guys really impressed me," he said.

"There were a few of them who were very gutsy. I felt they made things very difficult for us.

"I think we can look forward to a pretty interesting battle at Tucuman in seven days.

"I thought they really got off the line well and put a lot of pressure on us when we had the ball, and they we found it pretty difficult to contain them when they carried it well.

"It was a Test match."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport