Sport

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jamaica beaten in Acomb

Published 20/08/2014 | 16:21

Jamaica (left) struggles slightly in the Acomb
Jamaica (left) struggles slightly in the Acomb

Jamaica had to settle for fourth as Dutch Connection caused a minor surprise in the Tattersalls Acomb Stakes at York.

  • Go To

Aidan O'Brien's Galileo colt was an impressive winner at the Galway Festival and was sent off 2-1 second-favourite for this Group Three contest.

He raced prominently in the hands of Joseph O'Brien but lacked a change of gear at the business end and plugged on at the one pace.

For most of the last furlong there appeared to be a big shock on the cards after Karl Burke's Toocoolforschool shook off market leader Basateen, but William Buick played his hand last of all aboard the winner. The judge called a photo-finish but Dutch Connection (16-1) beat the 33-1 chance by a head, with Basateen third.

Buick said: "It was a good race, a step up from anything he's done in the past. He tries very hard and he's uncomplicated, which is a great attribute for a two-year-old."

Winning trainer Charlie Hills said: "He has been improving mentally all year. He's such an honest horse. He really ground it out. We won't be rushing him out on to the track too soon, we'll probably give him one more run."

Hills will now consider sending Dutch Connection to France or Newmarket, and said: "He's still a big frame of a horse and he'll get a mile, but I don't think I want to be doing that yet. He's in the Jean-Luc Lagardere and the Dewhurst, it'll be that sort of thing."

Burke said of the runner-up: "We thought a lot of him, that's why we came here. I did think he was better than the handicapper said, but he has still exceeded my expectations there. He's quite gawky, and perhaps he was just in front 100 yards too soon but he has run a great race and we know he belongs in this company now."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport