Sport

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Ireland win delights Kearney

Published 02/02/2014 | 18:07

Rob Kearney, right, was among the scorers as Ireland defeated Scotland 28-6 in Dublin
Rob Kearney, right, was among the scorers as Ireland defeated Scotland 28-6 in Dublin

Ireland full-back Rob Kearney was delighted to make a winning start to this season's RBS 6 Nations but warned sterner challenges lie ahead.

The Irish were comfortable 28-6 victors over Scotland in Dublin, with Kearney among the try-scorers as the hosts overpowered their lacklustre visitors.

Stand-in skipper Jamie Heaslip and Andrew Trimble also crossed the try-line as Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt enjoyed a win in his first Six Nations outing, but with two-time defending champions Wales to come in less than a week, no one in the Ireland camp will be getting carried away.

"To get off to a winning start is something that every team wants to do, so we're really happy with that," Kearney told BBC Sport.

The hosts' lead stood at 11-3 at half-time but it was a much-improved Ireland that came out in the second period and that fact was soon reflected on the scoreboard.

"We said we needed to go after them. We got a good try just before the half which gave us a little bit of breathing space," Kearney added.

"We just felt that if we kept keeping phases and attacking them, we could keep building on it."

Looking ahead to next Saturday's clash with Wales, who opened their defence with a unconvincing 23-15 win over Italy on Saturday, Kearney said: "It's a massive challenge for us. We are under no illusions.

"We have to recover really well now. There's only six days, they've had an extra day to recover, so we certainly know it's a massive, massive challenge coming."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport