Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 0

Poland POL 0


Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR


Croatia CRO

Portugal POR


Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL


Germany GER

Slovakia SVK


Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL


Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Shanagher does the trick for Clare

Published 23/04/2014 | 02:30

Clare manager Eamon Fennessy
Clare manager Eamon Fennessy

Clare made light work of defeating Kerry at Cusack Park in Ennis, handing out a 6-25 to 0-11 drubbing in a play-off game in the Munster minor hurling championship.

Having lost to Waterford in the opening round, the Banner were determined to get back to winning ways and, unfortunately for Kerry, they felt the backlash. Though Clare grabbed the opening score, a goal by full-forward Aaron Shanagher within 75 seconds, the opening half was not completely one-way traffic.

Credit to Kerry, by the 25th minute they found themselves only two points adrift (1-6 to 0-7). Clare boss Eamon Fennessy labelled his side's first-half display as "diabolical".

Nevertheless Clare's return of 1-4 to no score in the final five minutes of the opening half helped to steady a few nerves. In-form corner-forward Colin Corbett recorded Clare's second goal on the stroke of half-time.

It proved to be the score that opened the floodgates in the second period. Clare outscored the Kingdom by 4-15 to 0-3 after half-time.

Goals by Shanagher in the 39th and 50th minute plus two others from centre-forward Michael O'Shea and substitute Shane Conroy mortally wounded Kerry.

Scorers – Clare: A Shanagher 3-6 (4fs), C Corbett 1-5, I Galvin 0-6, M O'Shea 1-2, S Conway 1-0, M O'Malley, P McNamara 0-2 each, L O'Donovan, B Guilfoyle 0-1 each. Kerry: B Barrett 0-9 (8fs, 1 '65'), F Mackessy, J Brick 0-1 each.

Clare – J Loughnane; D Power, S Downey, R Hayes; J McCarthy, D Walsh (capt), D Fitzgerald; M O'Malley, P McNamara; D Chaplin, M O'Shea, I Galvin; B Guilfoyle, A Shanagher, C Corbett. Subs: L O'Donovan for Chaplin (h-t), C Smyth for McNamara (43), C Fitzgerald for O'Shea (45), J Cunningham for O'Malley (46), S Conway for Guilfoyle (51).

Kerry – S Murphy; J Barrett, D Shanahan, A O'Mahony; S O'Sullivan, M Leane, R Collins; B Barrett, M Lynch; F Mackessey (capt), A Murphy, J Brick; Joe Diggins, J Goulding, J Buckley.

Subs: J Conway for Mackessy (40), D O'Carroll for Buckley (46), Jason Diggins for Lynch (51), W O'Connor for O'Sullivan (53) T McElligott for Murphy (57).

Ref – P Kelly (Tipperary)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport