Tuesday 17 October 2017

Sands steers Portaferry home

Portaferry bridged a six-year gap with this deserved title win over holders Ballycran in Mitchel Park Ballygalget.

Three goals in nine minutes after half-time set up Portaferry in a game that never reached any great hurling heights.

Ballycran had the better of the first-half exchanges and led by three points at the break but the three-goal salvo by the winners saw them take control and ease their way to the title. In a strong Portaferry defence Ciaran Coulter and Matthew Conlon were outstanding, while Andy Savage was most impressive at midfield.

Eoghan Sands claimed the Man of the Match award as his two goals set Portaferry on their way.

SCORERS -- Portaferry: E Sands 2-1, P Braniff 0-5 (4f), F Rodgers 1-0, C O'Prey, A O'Prey 0-1. Ballycran: S Nicholson 0-8f, C Woods 0-2; M Ennis, J Coyle 0-1.

Portaferry -- K Keating; P Smith, C O'Neill, N White; M Conlon, C Coulter (capt), C O'Prey; A Savage, F Rodgers; A O'Prey, J Convery, N Kelly; C Mageean, P Braniff, E Sands. Subs: B Coleman for N Kelly, S Murray for F Rogers.

Ballycran -- S Keith; M Hughes, P Flynn, S Ennis; S Wilson, P Hughes, A Bell; P Keith, C Woods; S Nicholson, M Ennis, A Clarke; C Dorrian, C Flynn, J Coyle. Subs: E Gilmore for C Flynn, N Torney for C Dorrian, C Egan for A Clarke.

Ref -- P Braniff (Ballygalget)

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport