Wednesday 22 October 2014

Roche charts final course for Sarsfields

Published 25/10/2013 | 01:00

Paddy Ward blasts the ball past Craobh Chiarain goalkeeper Stephen Chester to score a goal for Lucan Sarsfields

Lucan Sarsfields withstood a brave second-half comeback from 14-man Craobh Chiaráin at Parnell Park last night.

Lucan Sarsfields withstood a brave second-half comeback from 14-man Craobh Chiaráin at Parnell Park last night.

Lucan dominated in the opening half and opened up a four-point lead in the sixth minute when Paddy Ward fired to the net from close range following a fine run and pass by Chris Crummey.

Craobh opened their account through an excellent score from Mark McGuirk but they struggled in the early exchanges, with Aidan Roche availing of superb play to land two points for Sarsfields.

Despite Alan McCrabbe firing over three frees for Chiaráins, Lucan continued to dominate, with Roche and Crummey sharing four points as they enjoyed a deserved 1-8 to 0-5 interval lead.

That advantage was narrowed to two points as Robbie Mahon followed up a well-taken point with a glorious goal from McCrabbe's pass in the 35th minute.

However, Eugene Farrell's dismissal for two bookings four minutes later punctured Craobh's momentum and Lucan secured their final berth through a Johnny McCaffrey point and three scores by substitute Kevin O'Reilly.

Scorers – Lucan Sarsfields: A Roche 0-4, T Somers (3fs), K O'Reilly (2fs) 0-3 each, P Ward 1-0, C Crummey 0-2, J McCaffrey 0-1. Craobh Chiaráin: R Mahon 1-2, A McCrabbe 0-5 (3fs), M McGuirk, K Elliott 0-1 each.

LUCAN SARSFIELDS – D Quinn; J Bellew, P Kelly, M McCaffrey; S McClelland, R Lambert, B Aird; J Byrne, J McCaffrey; T Lee, C Crummey, T Somers; A Roche, K Fitzgerald, P Ward. Subs: K O'Reilly for Ward (30), M May for Byrne (47), C Dooley for Somers (54).

CRAOBH CHIARÁIN – S Chester; S Ennis, E Farrell, Damian O'Reilly; D Kelly, Derek O'Reilly, S McDonald; P O'Boyle, R Mahon; M McGuirk, F Usanga, K Elliott; G Kelly, C McGowran, A McCrabbe. Subs: S Kirwan for Damian O'Reilly (19), G Ennis for McGuirk (28), K Hetherton for McDonald and J Ryan for Ennis (58).

REF: Gearóid McGrath (Setanta)

Ballyboden St Enda's continued their quest for a sixth title in seven seasons after seeing off St Brigid's at Parnell Park.

They didn't have it all their own way, however, falling 1-1 behind inside three minutes after John O'Loughlin hit the net for Brigid's. Paul Ryan settled 'Boden with a free and the winners struck for their first goal after Shane Durkin was played through by Conal Keaney.

The sides swapped scores as Brigid's maintained a stubborn resistance. But 'Boden pounced for a second goal before the break when Maurice Nagle buried to the roof of the net leaving them 2-6 to 1-5 ahead.

After Brigid's wasted a number of opportunities, 'Boden caught fire to hit 0-8 to 0-1 in the final quarter to book their place in the decider.

SCORERS – Ballyboden St Enda's: P Ryan 0-7 (5fs), S Durkin 1-1, M Nagle 1-0, C Keaney 0-3, N McMorrow, G Corrigan 0-2 each, S Hiney, S O'Connor 0-1 each. St Brigid's: P Winters 0-3 (2fs), J O'Loughlin 1-0, P McAvinue 0-2, D Doyle, A Nolan (1f), R Dunbar, P Rohan 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA'S – G Maguire; S O'Connor, D Curran, M Travers; T Sweeney, S Hiney, C Robinson; P Buckeridge, S Durkin; C Keaney, D Curtin, C McCormack; N McMorrow, M Nagle, P Ryan. Subs: D Sweeney for Robinson (29), G Corrigan for Buckeridge (h-t), F McGarry for D Curtin (49), E Carroll for O'Connor (58), N Maguire for Durkin (60).

ST BRIGID'S – A Nolan; C Doyle, S Brady, A McEnerney; B McEnerney, J Smyth, C Ryan; P McAvinue, K Kellett; P Rohan, P Winters, R Dunbar; D Plunkett, J O'Loughlin, D Doyle. Subs: C Lynch for Doyle (50), C Woodgate for Brady (55), D Smyth for Dunbar (57), S Callinan for Kellett (57).

REF – P Behan (Trinity Gaels)

Irish Independent

Read More

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport