Saturday 21 January 2017

O'Riordan's goal vital as Rebels prove to be extra special

Published 01/09/2003 | 00:11

CORK 1-21 KILKENNY 0-23 (after extra-time) All-Ireland IHC final FIRST blood to the Rebels in their clashes with the Cats after their intermediate hurlers claimed the All-Ireland IHC crown in a thrilling encounter which required extra-time at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Saturday.

  • Go To

With the same counties clashing for the Liam McCarthy cup next Sunday week, Leinster champions Kilkenny were bidding to land the first leg of hurling's grand slam but a gutsy Cork denied them their second title in this grade.

Cork were the dominant side in the opening half and with Jonathan O'Callaghan in fine form ran up a six point interval lead of 0-13 to 0-7.

On the changeover, Kilkenny took control.

It took them 25 minutes to draw level and two missed goal chances by Niall Moloney and Dermot Lawlor cost them victory. The score was 0-17 each at full-time.

In extra-time Kilkenny continued to have a slight edge and were one point clear, 0-21 to 0-20, at the break.

However, just three minutes in the second half of extra-time Cork struck for the vital game winning goal.

Full-forward Diarmuid O'Riordan finished an O'Callaghan free to the Kilkenny net for the crucial goal that steered Cork to victory.

SCORERS - Cork: J O'Callaghan 0-9, D O'Riordan 1-0, B Coleman, J Quinlan 0-3 each, J Barrett, V Morrissey 0-2 each, J Murphy, J Hughes 0-1 each. Kilkenny: J Power 0-5, A Fogarty, D Lawlor 0-4 each, J Maher, D Mackey 0-2 each, J O'Neill, P Maher, P Buggy, N Moloney, P Sheehan, E Walsh 0-1 each.

CORK - M Coleman; M Prout, J O'Brien, B Murphy; J Hughes, B Lombard, K Hartnett; A O'Connor, J Barrett; J O'Callaghan, B Coleman, R Dwyer; J Murphy, D O'Riordan, J Quinlan. Subs: V Morrissey for Dwyer, M Daly for Lombard, V Hurley for O'Connor, D Moher for Quinlan, Quinlan for Murphy, Dwyer for Hughes, Lombard for Coleman, Murphy for Quinlan.

KILKENNY - R O'Neill; P Costello, S Lanigan, G Joyce; E Mackey, A Lawlor, J O'Neill; J Power, P Buggy; A Fogarty, P Maher, J Maher; D Mackey, N Moloney, P Sheehan. Subs: D Lawlor for Buggy, JP Corcoran for Sheehan, E Walsh for P Maher, N Doherty for Power

REF - T McIntyre (Antrim).

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport