Tuesday 17 October 2017

O'Donoghue sets up extra-time triumph

CLARE 1-18
(After extra-time)

Galway 1-23, Clare 1-18Cian Murphy, ALL-IRELAND MHC Semi-FINAL

GALWAY pulled off a dramatic escape before powering their way to a shock victory over Clare in a thrilling curtain-raiser at Croke Park yesterday.

Clare, last year's beaten All-Ireland finalists, looked on course for a another decider when they led by three points in regulation injury-time.

However, a powerful Galway side launched a last-gasp effort that resulted in Gerard O'Donoghue bundling home an equalising goal to force extra-time, in which the Tribesmen, inspired by captain Shane Maloney, maintained their momentum.

The teams were level on 0-3 each after 10 minutes, but Clare began to pull clear as midfield dynamos Colm Galvin and Tony Kelly came to the fore and they led 0-9 to 0-5 at half-time.

The introduction of the towering Jack Carr and Dean Higgins gave Galway new impetus and they were back on level terms after 43 minutes. Clare looked to have struck a decisive blow when a great run by Aaron Cunningham set up Oisin Hickey for a goal, but John Hanbary and Padraig Brehony kept Galway in touch.

It looked like Clare had done enough to stay clear, but then in injury-time, Galway's powerful forwards drove Clare back and after a ruck over a loose ball, it popped up perfectly for O'Donoghue.

To add to Clare's woe, Tony Kelly had a monstrous effort from a free that came back off an upright just before full-time.

Galway dominated the first period of extra-time, with Maloney rampant, and led 1-19 to 1-16 at the break. Clare searched for a response, but ran out of steam.

SCORERS -- Galway: S Maloney 0-10 (7f), G O'Donoghue 1-2, J Carr 0-3, P Brehony, D Higgins 0-2 each, J Hanbary, B Lane, M Mullins, B Molloy 0-1 each. Clare: C O'Connell 0-5 (3f), A Cunningham 0-4, O Hickey 1-0, T Kelly (1f), C Galvin 0-3 each, S O'Donnell 0-2, M Moroney 0-1.

GALWAY -- S Hannon; O Teagle, P Killeen, C Diviney; J Hanbary, S Sweeney, P Mannion; B Lane, P Brehony; J Flynn, J Glynn, A Tuohy; G O'Donoghue, S Maloney, K Cullinane. Subs: J Carr for K Cullinane (h-t), D Higgins for Tuohy (37), B Molloy for Lane (47), M Mullins for Flynn (53), P Flaherty for G O'Donoghue (68), S Caulfield for Killeen (73), B Keane for Hanbury (79).

CLARE -- E Quilligan; S O'Brien, J Browne, S Morey; J Colleran, J Shanahan, G O'Connell; C Galvin, T Kelly; E Enright, C O'Connell, P Duggan; S O'Donnell, O Hickey, A Cunningham. Subs: S Liddy for Enright (38), M Moroney for G O'Connell (45), D Maloney for S Liddy (70), G O'Connell for Hickey (77).

REF -- S Cleere (Kilkenny).

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport