Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL


Germany GER

Slovakia SVK


Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL


Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Nolan runs riot in Derry annihilation

Kerry 4-31 Derry 0-11

Published 05/05/2014 | 02:30

Kerry annihilated a poor Derry side at Austin Stack Park, Tralee, as the Division 2A champions started their quest to go one better in this competition after last year's final defeat.

The game was over after 20 minutes, with Kerry racing into an 0-11 to 0-0 lead.

Shane Nolan and Podge Boyle grabbed three points each and one apiece from Darran Dineen, Thomas Casey, Mikey Boyle, Colm Harty and David Butler put Derry – who lost their leading scorer Ruari Convery to injury in the 24th minute – very much on the back foot.

Derry were overrun in the opening half as Kerry, with 10 different scorers and goals from Nolan and Colm Harty, led 2-18 to 0-0, leaving a paltry attendance bewildered. The second half was academic, though Derry did perform a lot better.

Kerry were superior in every department, with Nolan top-scoring with 1-10 and Daniel Collins and Podge Boyle adding further goals. It was left to Alan Grant, with 0-5, to save some face for Derry.

On this evidence, Kerry will be short odds to regain the Christy Ring Cup, which they last won in 2011.

Scorers – Kerry: S Nolan 1-10 (5fs), P Boyle 1-3, D Collins, C Harty 1-2 each, M Boyle, D Butler 0-3 each, S Weir, J Egan 0-2 each, D Dineen, T Casey, J Leahy, P O'Connor 0-1 each Derry: A Grant 0-5 (4fs), K Hinphey, C Convery 0-2 each, S Farren (f), P Cleary 0-1 each.

Kerry – T Flynn; B Murphy, T Murnane, D Fitzelle; S Weir, D Dineen, T Casey; D O'Connell, J Egan; M Boyle, D Collins, C Harty; P Boyle, D Butler, S Nolan Subs: K Carmody for T Casey (45), A Boyle for D Butler (45), J Casey for D Dineen (49), P O Connor for C Harty (54), J Leahy for D Collins (58)

Derry – D McDermott; M Warnock, L Hinphey, E McGuckin; P Cleary, K Hinphey, A Rafferty; B Og McGilligan, C Quinn; C Mc Quillan, A Grant, A Kelly; J O'Dwyer, R Convery, D O'Neill Subs: S Farren for R Convery (25), C Convery for C Quinn (25), M O'Hagan for D O'Neill (45), N Farran for M Warnock (54), T McCloy for J O'Dwyer (60)

Ref – T Carroll (Offaly).

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport