Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)


Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Murphy ends Rebels career

Published 13/03/2014 | 02:30

Brian Murphy, Cork
Brian Murphy, Cork

The last remaining link to the All-Ireland-winning Cork sides of 2004 and '05 has been broken after Brian Murphy announced his retirement from the inter-county game.

  • Go To

The former All Star and 2004 Young Hurler of the Year informed Rebels manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy that he wouldn't return to the county set-up for a 12th season.

Murphy was an integral part of the Cork side last year, shutting down Hurler of the Year Tony Kelly to good effect when the Rebels met Clare in the Munster championship before a shoulder injury curtailed his season.

Cork selector Johnny Crowley said: "We had been hoping that Brian would continue on with us for another year, but he has made up his mind to retire. Brian has been a tremendous servant for Cork down through the years."

Elsewhere, Wexford have recalled Rory Jacob to their starting side for the clash with Laois after his telling impact from the bench last weekend. The Oulart-The Ballagh man hit 1-2 as a substitute in the defeat to Limerick.

Manager Liam Dunne also drafts in Liam Ryan and Ciaran Kenny while Paul Morris, Ian Byrne and Jack Guiney make way.

In football, Cork boss Brian Cuthbert has shuffled his deck for the trip to Castlebar to face Mayo on Sunday.

Cuthbert has made eight changes with Colm O'Neill making his first start since his comeback from a third cruciate knee ligament injury. Dual players Eoin Cadogan and Aidan Walsh also return after lining out for the hurlers against Offaly last weekend.

Wexford (SH v Laois) – M Fanning; L Ryan, M O'Hanlon, B Kenny; K Rossiter, L Chin, C Kenny; W Devereux, E Martin; D O'Keeffe, S Tomkins, H Kehoe; R Jacob, G Moore, L Og McGovern.

Cork (SF v Mayo) – K O'Halloran; M Shields, E Cadogan, K Crowley; C Dorman, T Clancy, A Cronin; A O'Sullivan, A Walsh; C O'Driscoll, P Kerrigan, T Clancy; C O'Neil, B Hurley, D O'Connor.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport