Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Late points keep UCC on course

UCC 1-13 NUIG 0-14

Published 13/02/2013 | 04:00

DEFENDING champions UCC remain on course for a 42nd title after they edged past NUIG at the Mardyke.

  • Go To

Having led by 1-7 to 0-7 at half-time, after Brian O'Sullivan palmed a Seamus Harnedy delivery to the net, the home side looked good value to progress.

Points from Harnedy and Brian Murray pushed them further clear early in the second half, but poor free-taking prevented them from closing out the game.

With Galway star Niall Burke in excellent form for NUIG, the visitors slowly began to reel in their opponents as UCC struggled to find scores and a Burke free in the 56th minute tied the game at 1-11 to 0-14.

A draw would still have been enough for UCC to advance, but NUIG had a great chance to take the lead with a Burke free from halfway, but he pulled his effort wide.

After that let-off, points from Harnedy and Dara Fives gave UCC breathing space to secure top spot in Group A.

SCORERS – UCC: B O'Sullivan 1-1, S Harnedy (1f), P Haughney, C Lehane 0-3 each, B Hartnett (f), D Fives (f), B Murray 0-1 each. NUIG: N Burke 0-11 (7f), K Downes 0-2, J Cooney 0-1.

UCC – D McCarthy; S Maher, D Glynn, K Murphy; J Barry, L Egan, P Prendergast; B Lawton, P Haughney; B Hartnett, D McCormack, S Harnedy; B O'Sullivan, B Murray, C Lehane. Subs: D Fives for Prendergast (11-24, blood), A Breen for Hartnett (37), C Murphy for Murray (57), Fives for Prendergast (57), M Sugrue for McCormack (58).

NUIG – D Tuohy; D Magner, B Flaherty, K Moynihan; E Glynn, D Burke, S McCormack; L Markham, J Cooney; B Lane, K Downes, D Higgins; A Cunningham, N Burke, B Daly. Subs: G Donoghue for McCormack (16-17, blood), Donoghue for Cunningham (33), E Fahy for Magner (39), N Deasy (Clare) for Higgins (46).

REF – S Hourigan (Limerick).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport