Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Keenan the star as Laois rout Derry

Laois 2-20 Derry 0-8

Published 25/03/2013 | 05:00

An understrength Derry side were well and truly beaten at Celtic Park by a rampant Laois as GAA president Liam O'Neill watched intently from the stand.

  • Go To

Derry took the lead from a Paddy Henry free but without first-choice players Liam Hinphey and Oisin McCloskey they fell further and further behind in the first half as all six Laois forwards managed to get on the scoreboard. A Tommy Fitzgerald goal in the 24th minute eased Laois to a deserved 1-13 to 0-4 interval lead.

Six minutes into the second half, top scorer Zane Keenan (1-3) squeezed the sliotar to the net from a tight angle and the O'Moore County went on to run out comprehensive 18-point winners.

Man of the match: Z Keenan (Laois)

Scorers – Laois: Z Keenan 1-3, S Maher 0-5, W Hyland 0-5, T Fitzgerald 1-1, M Whelan 0-2, B Dunne, N Foyle, PJ Scully and C Dwyer 0-1 each. Derry: P Henry 0-5 (4fs), K Hinphey 0-2 and B Rodgers 0-1.

Laois – E Riley 7; B Stapleton 7, B Campion 8, JA Delaney 7; J Fitzpatrick 7, M Whelan 8, G Burke 6; C Healy 7, B Dunne 7; S Maher 7, Z Keenan 9, W Hyland 7; C Dwyer 6, T Fitzgerald 6, Neil Foyle 6. Subs: PJ Scully for C Dwyer (45), A Collier for T Fitzgerald (52) B Guilfoyle for G Burke (52), C Dunne for B Dunne (61). B Conroy for S Maher (61).

Derry – D McDermott 7; M Warnock 5, C Quinn 6, J McCloskey 6; R McCloskey 5, M Kirkpatrick 5, P Kelly 5; C Convery 5, K Hinphey 5; B Rodgers 8, A Grant 6, P Henry 5; P Cleary 5, T McCloskey, S Farren 5. Subs: N Farren for M Kirkpatrick (h-t), D McCloskey for R McCloskey (h-t), M O'Hagan for T McCloskey (45), D McAlary for P Cleary (53), B Quigley for K Hinphey (65).

Ref – O Elliott (Antrim)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport