Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 1

Spain ESP 0


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Keenan leads Camross to glory

Laois SHC Final: Camross 2-12 Borris-Kilcotton 1-12

Published 30/09/2013 | 05:00

A Zane Keenan-inspired Camross side secured a record-breaking 24th title.

A Zane Keenan-inspired Camross side secured a record-breaking 24th title.

Keenan scored 0-7 from midfield in a virtuoso display. Borris-Kilcotton started well, with points from Ciaran Comerford and Colm Stapleton putting them two ahead inside of the opening two minutes.

Camross hit back with a pair of frees from Keenan.

The Camross talisman later sent a long ball into the Borris-Kilcotton full-back line, which broke kindly for Dwane Palmer, who powered past Eoin Fleming for the opening goal. Another Keenan free had Camross 1-6 to 0-3 up after 20 minutes.

Aaron Moore and Dean Delaney struck in the last minute of the half for Camross; they lead 1-9 to 0-6 at the break.

Borris-Kilcotton got an early point from Patrick Whelan after the restart and were then gifted a goal when Tadgh Doran fumbled a long ball in from Stapleton, and Robert Jones pounced to bundle the ball over. A Comerford free soon after made it a one-point game.

That would be as close as Borris-Kilcotton would get, however, as Keenan pointed a free to settle some frayed Camross nerves, and then he set up their second goal.

A sideline cut from the right wing by Keenan was flicked to the net by Andrew Collier, and that would be the vital score.

Borris-Kilcotton battled to the final whistle, but the goal they needed never came as Camross held on for the win.

Man of the Match: Z Keenan (Camross)

SCORERS – Camross: Z Keenan 0-7 (6fs), D Palmer 1-1, A Collier 1-0, A Moore 0-2, D Delaney, C Collier 0-1 each. Borris-Kilcotton: C Comerford 0-7fs, R Jones 1-0, P Whelan 0-2, C Stapleton, B Stapleton, N Foyle, 0-1 each.

CAMROSS – T Doran; M Phelan, M Moloney, P Guilfoyle; M Burke, G Burke, D Keenan; Z Keenan, M Collier; A Collier, T Burke, C Collier; A Moore, D Palmer, D Delaney. Subs: O Dowling for M Collier (33), M Delaney for A Collier (51)

BORRIS-KILCOTTON – E Fleming; S Finan, O Bergin, N Delaney; B Stapleton, M Whelan, J Fitzpatrick; P Whelan, K Finlay; PJ Scully, P Drennan, C Stapleton; J Campion, C Comerford, R Jones. Subs: N Foyle for Campion (33), D Fitzpatrick for Drennan (46)

Ref – A Stapleton (Rathdowney-Errill)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport