Sport Hurling

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Hurling: Tipperary cling on for one-point win over the Cats

Published 10/03/2013 | 15:51

Eoin Kelly, Tipperary, celebrate's after scoring a point. Photo: Sportsfile
Eoin Kelly, Tipperary, celebrate's after scoring a point. Photo: Sportsfile

TIPPERARY bounced back from their hammering at the hands of Cork to beat Kilkenny by a solitary point in Thurles.

  • Go To

Tipp made a dream start with three quick-fire points in the opening two minutes but Eoin Larkin’s point helped the Cats to respond and after 15 minutes it was four points apiece.

 

In a complete turnaround Rochie Hogan found the net for Kilkenny as they hit the front.

 

There was little to separate the sides but the goals for Tipp courtesy of John O’Dwyer’s head and Lar Corbett pushed them in front and they led 2-11 to 1-8 at the change of ends

 

Eoin Larkin and Richie Power helped erode Tipp’s lead and the sides were level at 2-13 to 1-16 before Tipp added two points.

 

Tommy Walsh then received his marching orders for two yellow cards and he was quickly followed for an early shower by the Premier County’s Noel McGrath.

 

Kilkenny pushed hard for an equaliser late on but Tipp stood form to record a 2-17 to 1-19 victory.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport