Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Hockey mixed with murder – hurling taking off in New Zealand

Published 20/02/2014 | 21:49

"The sport is both ruthless and fascinating"
"The sport is both ruthless and fascinating"

The ancient game is flourishing in New Zealand and their descriptions make for interesting reading.

McKenna’s Christchurch GAA club is growing in numbers thanks to the large numbers of Irish people travelling to the country in search of work and for the locals it is exposure to an unfamiliar game.

The Press has reported on the Irish GAA club and also attempted to give a little background to the game of hurling.

The classic Jason Statham quote of “hockey mixed with murder” is an opening description and other observations are noted.

“It is played fast - really fast,” reports the paper.

“Players are all but sprinting up and down the field, with sticks flying and a hard ball at the centre of it all. The sport is both ruthless and fascinating.”

“The goal looks like a rugby goal post with a football-style net from the cross-bar down. Points are scored by getting the ball over the bar (1 point) or under it and past the goalie (3 points).”

The fact that helmets have only become mandatory in recent years is duly noted.

"The sport is high on contact, but compulsory helmets and face guards were only introduced to men's teams in 2010."

Some Kiwis have dabbled with the ancient game in Christchurch, with more expected to join as awareness of the sport increases.

Declan Whooley

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport