Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Hennessy punishes slack Sligo

Warwickshire 0-12 Sligo 2-5, Allianz NHL Division 3A

Published 10/03/2014 | 02:30

Sean Hennessy fired over nine points as Warwickshire stunned wasteful Sligo at Markievicz Park.

The already understrength hosts suffered a major blow when Connacht panellist Keith Raymond pulled out through injury before throw-in.

Without their free-taker, Sligo struggled badly in front of the posts, and their tally of 15 wides – 11 in the first half – proved their undoing. They tried four freetakers but converted just one of 11 frees.

Hennessy had no such problems. He scored the first three points of the day, before Kevin Gilmartin got Sligo's first score after four early wides.

Sligo crept in front when Declan Reidy whipped the sliotar to the net midway through the half, though points from Hennessy and Chris Lenihan, sandwiching a Gary Waldron score for Sligo, meant the sides were level at the break, 1-2 to 0-5.

Waldron added two more points, and Sligo looked in command when Eolan McCarthy netted their second goal on 55 minutes.

But Shane Conlon, Chris Brough and Hennessy clipped over further points to put Warwickshire ahead.

Liam Reidy did point from play for the Yeats men, but there were more wides as the visitors clung on.

Scorers – Warwickshire: S Hennessy 0-9 (6fs), C Lenihan, S Conlon, C Brough 0-1 each. Sligo: G Waldron 0-3 (1f), E McCarthy, D Reidy 1-0 each, L Reidy, K Gilmartin 0-1 each.

Sligo – S Hayes 6; N McDermott 6, J Kenny 7, T Brennan 6; E McGowan 6, L Reidy 7, D Keown 7; B Kenny 7, N Hyland 5; E McCarthy 6, D O'Connor 5, G O'Kelly-Lynch 6; D Reidy 6, K Gilmartin 5, G Waldron 7. Subs: M Davey 5 for O'Kelly-Lynch (64), J Durkin for McCarthy (69).

Warwickshire – D Kelly 5; K Hally 6, J Bergin 6, S Brough 6; D Sheedy 7, K Courtney 6, C Brough 7; C Robins 7, S Conlon 6; S Hennessy 8, J Reddan 5, E Long 5; C Lenihan 6, B Gaffney 5, C McMullan 5. Subs: T Kelly for S Brough (64), K Phelan for Sheedy (67).

Ref – J O'Brien (Tipperary)

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport