Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Haughey secures victory for St Colman's

St Colman's Newry 2-17 St Ciaran's Ballygawley 4-9

Published 11/02/2014 | 02:30

Manchester's Fullen Gaels sent Leinster champions Ballinamere crashing out in this war of attrition
Manchester's Fullen Gaels sent Leinster champions Ballinamere crashing out in this war of attrition

St Colman's justified their favourites' tag in this MacRory Cup play-off but St Ciaran's Ballygawley pushed them all the way.

  • Go To

The Tyrone school were on top early but St Colman's produced a blistering response, before Mark McConnell banged in a goal and the sides were level at the break.

In the second-half Jack Haughey and Pearse Og McCrickard scored goals within three minutes. The Tyrone lads hit back with a Jody McGlone goal. With time almost up, Mark Kavanagh hit a 20m free to the net. However, a Haughey free levelled it before he hit another brace to win it.

Scorers - St Colman's Newry: J Haughey 1-9 (4f), P McCrickard 1-3, P O'Hagan, C Gilmore 0-2 each, O O'Neill 0-1.

St Ciaran's Ballygawley: M Kavanagh 1-5 (3f), P McAnenly , J McGlone (1f), M McConnell 1-1 each, C Morris 0-1.

St Colman's Newry – J Heaney; J Brown, O Donnelly, C Gordon; P O'Hagan, R McQuaid, L McGreevy; F Aiken, O O'Neill; P McCrickard, J Haughey, J Morgan; C Gilmore, P Keating, B Doyle. Subs: S Hanna for Gilmore, C Brown for Keating, G McElroy for Aiken.

St Ciaran's Ballygawley – C McAnenly; C Shields, C Boyle, N Breen; N Kelly, C Morris, B McSorley; R O'Neill, E McGarrity; C Monaghan, M McConnell, R McAnespie; P McAnenly, M Kavanagh, J McGlone. Subs: S Mulgrew for Monaghan, J Woods for Mulgrew, C Kelly for Morris, C Morris for McAnenly, S Mulgrew for McGarrity

Ref – M McNally, Monaghan

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport