Sport Hurling

Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


DJ Carey's Carlow warriors lose out to Waterford IT

Waterford IT 0-26 IT Carlow 1-15

Published 12/02/2014 | 02:30

Colm Bonnar, Waterford Institute of Technology manager
Colm Bonnar, Waterford Institute of Technology manager

A second-half splurge of seven unanswered points helped Waterford IT dispose of IT Carlow in Carriganore.

Pauric Mahony and Jake Dillon let loose after the break, firing over 11 points. Between the posts, Stephen O'Keeffe stopped a rasper from Joe Carroll, while Stephen Maher excelled for the visitors. The Laois ace hit 0-5 in each half.

The sides were inseparable during an opening period that WIT shaded by 0-13 to 1-9, with Eoin Murphy and Cathal Kenny to the fore. DJ Carey's Carlow side dismissed their underdog status. Maher earned a penalty on 18 minutes which Ian Byrne blasted over. Kevin Kelly got the Carlow goal. But seven points in the space of 10 minutes changed the game for Colm Bonnar's side, who meet DIT in the last eight.

Scorers – WIT: E Murphy (all frees), P Mahony (1f) 0-6 each; J Dillon 0-5; C Kenny 0-4; L McGrath 0-2 (1 s-l); T Hamill, G O'Brien, M Power 0-1 each. IT Carlow: S Maher 0-10 (6fs); K Kelly 1-1; I Byrne 0-3 (1f, 0-1pen); J Brennan 0-1.

WIT – S O'Keeffe; G Teehan, P Gahan, J Maher; T Hamill, J O'Dwyer, S Murphy; S Roche, H Kehoe; G O'Brien, P Mahony, C Kenny; L McGrath, J Dillon, E Murphy. Subs: J Langton for Roche (58); M Power for McGrath (58); J Hayes for E Murphy (59); A Kenny for C Kenny (60); L O'Loughlin for S Murphy (62).

IT Carlow – C Clancy; J Carroll, E Malone, P Rigney; C Tobin, R Doyle, S Gardiner; G Brennan, T Carroll; J Brennan, I Byrne, S Maher; K Kelly, D Dowling, C Kenny. Subs: M O'Hanlon for T Carroll (47); M Sexton for Byrne (54).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport