Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Conlon and Hannon keep Cregan on road to glory

Mary I 1-18 Dublin IT 0-15 fitzgibbon cup

Published 20/02/2013 | 04:00

EAMONN CREGAN'S Mary Immaculate College created history as they advanced to the semi-finals for the very first time.

  • Go To

Mary I, spearheaded by Clare's John Conlon and Limerick star Declan Hannon, defeated Dublin Institute of Technology to set up a last-four showdown with Limerick IT or Waterford IT.

Under the guidance of Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland winner Cregan (below), Mary I won the Ryan Cup last year and successfully applied to join the Fitzgibbon ranks.

And, with a hefty sprinkling of inter-county players, Mary I have emerged as the surprise packet in this year's competition.

Yesterday, at the splendid home of Parnells in Coolock, they claimed their biggest scalp to date, recovering from a sluggish start to seal the win in style.

Robert O'Donnell, who cannot force his way on to the Limerick senior panel, played superbly at full-back for Mary I, who found themselves trailing by four points twice in the first half before recovering to establish a 0-11 to 0-9 interval lead.

Little separated the two sides in the early minutes of the second half but Mary I got lucky in the 41st minute when substitute Lar Considine's attempted point dropped short but ended up trickling over the DIT goal-line as goalkeeper and captain Finn McGarry failed to deal with the dropping ball.

Considine's goal moved Mary I four points clear, 1-13 to 0-12, and it was a lead they would hold until the final whistle.

Galway star Conor Cooney, released for duty by All-Ireland club finalists St Thomas, cut a subdued figure until he fired over a superb 47th-minute point. However, Cooney will be unavailable for the finals weekend at GMIT hurling club because of the forthcoming club final against Kilcormac-Killoughey.

Kilkenny native Mike Moloney fired over six points for DIT, including five from frees, but this was a day when their big players, such as Dublin pair Liam Rushe and David Treacy, were off-colour.

Scorers – Mary I: J Conlon 0-7 (6f), D Hannon 0-5 (3 65s, 1f), L Considine 1-0, S Curran 0-2, C Galvin, L O'Farrell, B O'Halloran, C Cooney 0-1 each. DIT: M Moloney 0-6 (5f), S O'Connor, T Connolly, N Quinn, D Treacy (1f) 0-2 each, J McManus 0-1.

MARY I – S Nolan; C Fennessy, R O'Donnell, A Ryan; J Wall, D Hannon, E Hogan; C Galvin, N O'Meara; S Curran, W Hickey, C Cooney; B O'Halloran, J Conlon, L O'Farrell. Subs: L Considine for Fennessy (h-t), K Fitzgerald for Considine (55), E Hogan for Hickey (60), D O'Carroll for O'Meara (60+2).

DIT – F McGarry; J Diviney, G McManus, C O'Shaughnessy; D Curran, L Rushe, K Bergin; S Morris, S O'Connor; N Quinn, M Moloney, S Ryan; J Hobbs, T Connolly, D Treacy. Subs: L Prendergast for Morris (25), W Cullen for Ryan (40), J McManus for Hobbs (40), P Phelan for Prendergast (59).

REF–O Elliot (Antrim).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport