Sport Hurling

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Champions battle past 14-man Deise

Munster U-21 HC semi-final: Clare 2-15 Waterford 0-17

Published 19/07/2013 | 05:00

Seadna Morey, right,scored a second half goal for Clare in their victory
Seadna Morey, right,scored a second half goal for Clare in their victory

All-Ireland kingpins Clare held off a battling challenge from 14-man Waterford at Walsh Park as Seadna Morey and Aaron Cunningham struck for second-half goals.

Jake Dillon was unfortunate to finish on the losing side as he emerged as top scorer with 13 points.

With nine seniors on their books, Clare arrived as odds-on favourites and posted three early points through Daire Keane, Cathal O'Connell and a Peter Duggan sideline cut.

The hosts were struggling on their own puck-outs, but staged a remarkable fightback at the tail end of the half to depart 0-10 to 0-9 ahead after direct running forced a succession of frees, converted by Dillon.

With Dillon continuing to pile on the scores, Waterford built a three-point lead after the break, but their challenge ground to a halt when Paudie Prendergast was dismissed for a second yellow card.

The Deise led by 0-14 to 0-11 entering the final quarter, but Clare's numerical advantage came to the fore and on 47 minutes, Morey completed a fine three-man move to put them into a lead that they didn't relinquish.

Dillon brought Waterford to within a point with 10 minutes remaining, but there was another scoring spurt in the champions and, on 57 minutes, Cunningham's goal settled matters. Clare march on to meet Tipperary in the provincial decider on August 7.

Scorers – Clare: C O'Connell 0-7 (5fs), S Morey, A Cunningham 1-0 each, D O'Halloran, P Collins, J Shanahan, D Keane, P Duggan (s-l), C Galvin, S O'Halloran, A O'Neill (f) 0-1 each.

Waterford: J Dillon 0-13 (11fs), C Curran, D Breathnach, S Roche, P Mahony (f) 0-1 each.

Clare – R Taaffe; P Flanagan, D McInerney, J Browne; S Morey, A O'Neill, S O'Halloran; C Galvin, T Kelly; P Duggan, P Collins, A Cunningham; C O'Connell, D Keane, S O'Donnell.

Subs: J Shanahan for Kelly (12), D O'Halloran for Keane (43), C Malone for O'Donnell (55), E Boyce for Shanahan (59), M O'Neill for P Collins (61).

Waterford – D Duggan; S McNulty, T Bourke, S Roche; R Barry, D Fives, P Prendergast; K Power, D Breathnach; J Dillon, E Murphy, C Curran; C Dunford, S Roche, J Barron.

Subs: P Mahony for Dunford (39), A Gleeson for Barron (46), C Heffernan for Murphy (49).

Ref – J Ryan (Tipperary)

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport