Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Byrne leads charge against poor students

Wexford 4-21 NUIG 0-8

Published 20/01/2014 | 02:30

Wexford cruised to the easiest of Walsh Cup victories as they totally outclassed NUIG in Gorey.

Inspired from the back by Liam Ryan, Lee Chin and Diarmuid O'Keeffe, and with Ian Byrne, Paul Morris and Shane Tomkins shining in the attack, this young Wexford side dominated the opening 35 minutes.

NUIG, who had disposed of Laois the previous weekend, were hugely disappointing and, despite the best efforts of John Hennebery and Cormac Devanney in defence, the home side could have won by more.

After picking off some excellent long-range points through Byrne, Tomkins and O'Keeffe, Wexford led 0-7 to 0-4 after 16 minutes. That dominance soon translated into goals, first through a Mark Fanning free and then via Byrne just before half-time, for a 2-15 to 0-4 lead at the break.

The second half wasn't much better for the Galway students as the home side remained in control, with further points from Byrne and Gary Moore.

Wexford now used their bench, but this did not affect their flow as they struck for further goals from Kevin Foley and Padge Doran to ease into a semi-final game next weekend.

scorers -- Wexford: I Byrne 1-5 (3fs), P Doran, K Foley 1-1 each, M Fanning 1-0 (f), S Tomkins, G Moore 0-3 each, D O'Keeffe, P Morris, B Jordan 0-2 each, E Martin, R Clarke 0-1 each. NUIG: N O'Brien 0-4 (2fs), N Deasy 0-2 (1f), B Lane, J Hennebery 0-1 each.

Wexford -- M Fanning; L Ryan, K Rossiter, E Conroy; D O'Keeffe, L Chin, J Tonks; C Devitt, B Jordan; S Tomkins, P Morris, I Byrne; G Moore, P Doran, K Foley. Subs: P J Nolan for Byrne (41), R Clarke for Moore (48), J O'Connor for Chin (50), E Martin for Rossiter (57).

NUIG -- K Flynn; E Teagle, E Fahy, D Magnier; G Joyce, J Hennebery, C Devanney; J P O'Connell, E O'Farrell; N Deasy, N O'Brien, C Hardiman; M Mullins, B Lane, G O'Donohoe. Subs: K McMahon for Joyce (32), S Claffey for Deasy (48), G Hutchinson for Flynn (58).

Ref -- G Quilty (Kilkenny).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport