Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Burke fires Athenry into final

Pres Athenry 2-16 Portumna CS 2-7

Published 22/02/2014 | 02:30

Gaelic football
Gaelic football

A stunning first-half display from Brian Burke at Duggan Park eased Presentation Athenry into the final.

  • Go To

Full-forward Burke – who played in last year's All-Ireland minor final for Galway – was unstoppable with the wind at his back, landing nine points to give his side a 1-12 to 0-2 half-time advantage.

He also set up the goal – when his shot was saved by Shane O'Grady, Cian Burke pounced to flick in the rebound.

Any doubts about the result disappeared in the 40th minute when Evan Niland rattled a fine ground strike past O'Grady to make it 2-14 to 0-4. Portumna CS staged a bit of a late revival, led by the excellent Eamonn Larkin, clawing their way back to respectability.

Larkin goaled twice in the final quarter, from a 20-metre free and then an audacious flick over the advancing Conor Farrell, but Portumna had no answer to Burke's brilliance.

The other semi-final between St Brigid's Loughrea and Gort CS was postponed because of an unplayable pitch at Pearse Stadium.

Scorers – Presentation Athenry: B Burke 0-10 (4fs, 1 '65', 1 s-l), C Burke 1-2, E Niland 1-1, C Shaughnessy 0-2, R Hardiman 0-1. Portumna CS: E Larkin 2-6 (1-4f), J Canning 0-1.

Pres Athenry – C Farrell; J Fitzpatrick, B Hickey, A Greaney; R Doyle, V Doyle, S Loftus; S Bannon, B Concannon; R Hardiman, C Shaughnessy, R Byrne; C Burke, B Burke, E Niland. Subs: T Forde for Hardiman (35), D Daly for Niland (45), N Burke for Concannon (50), E Callanan for Greaney (60).

Portumna CS – S O'Grady; L Casey, B Gohery, J Madden; C Quirke, J Downey, J Madden; K O'Hara, J Canning; N Moloney, S Whelan, J McLoughlin; N Concannon, S Scully, E Larkin. Subs: E McEvoy for Whelan (38), J Burke for Madden (59).

Ref – C Browne (Galway).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport