Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Hughes gunning for Conor triumph

Published 26/02/2013 | 11:36

Dessie Hughrs 'couldn't be happier' with Our Conor ahead of Cheltenham
Dessie Hughrs 'couldn't be happier' with Our Conor ahead of Cheltenham

Dessie Hughes is hoping to improve Ireland's record in the JCB Triumph Hurdle with the impressive Our Conor.

  • Go To

With only two wins for the Emerald Isle in 20 years, it is one of only a handful of races at the Cheltenham Festival that Irish trainers have struggled to dominate.

However, following an impressive victory over the previously unbeaten Diakali, Our Conor is sharing favouritism with most bookmakers along with Nicky Henderson's Rolling Star.

"He has been brilliant from the first day he schooled over hurdles," Hughes told the Daily Telegraph.

"He coughed in December, which is why he missed running over Christmas. But he has done very well since his last win. I couldn't be happier.

"I've had Our Conor all the way through. He was rated mid-80s on the Flat and won a couple of races, but he was always destined for jumping. He schooled before he even ran on the Flat.

"It's hard to buy a good jumper off the Flat these days. Anything half-decent costs a fortune, so we decided to find one to race on the Flat ourselves, and we've been lucky to find Our Conor."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport