Sport Horse Racing

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Three things to look forward to

Published 17/06/2014 | 02:30

Treve will be one of the star attractions at Royal Ascot
Treve will be one of the star attractions at Royal Ascot

There is plenty to look forward to on the first day, but the first appearance in Britain of the brilliant Arc winner Treve in tomorrow's Prince Of Wales's Stakes, will probably be the highlight of the entire week, certainly in equine terms.

  • Go To

1 TREMENDOUS TREVE

This grand filly suffered her first defeat in the Prix Ganay in April, but what a way to be beaten, and what a horse to inflict that defeat. Cirrus Des Aigles, which has won twice since, was the warrior that just pipped Treve. But Criquette Head will have Treve peaking for the Prince Of Wales's.

2 ESTIMATE IN THE GOLD CUP

Thursday will be all about whether Estimate, the Queen's filly, can register back-to-back wins in the Ascot Gold Cup, the most prestigious race at the meeting. Few have seen the Queen as animated and happy as she appeared after her filly had won 12 months ago. This time around, Michael Stoute says it has been a lot harder getting Estimate fit after she pulled a muscle in her hindquarter.

This prevented her having a run beforehand, which over two and a half miles might prove a serious disadvantage.

3 JOCKEY BATTLES

No jockey has been riding as consistently of late than Ryan Moore, whose judgment has been superb. He should be followed in just about every race in which he has a mount.

Joseph O'Brien has first preference of all the horses trained by his father Aidan (provided he can make the weight), and this is a huge advantage. The young rider from Ballydoyle is cool and confident.

Richard Hughes, the Kildare native who is England's reigning champion, is very confident that Toronado will start the week by winning the Queen Anne Stakes.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport