Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Morning Assembly shows fighting spirit to claim Novice Hurdle

Published 24/04/2013 | 17:19

Morning Assembly provided Pat Fahy with his biggest win since 2004 when battling back to hold off Inish Island in the Irish Daily Mirror Novice Hurdle.

Only seven went to post in the Grade One over three miles with Ballycasey all the rage for Willie Mullins but Ruby Walsh picked the wrong horse as it was Inish Island who came out ahead of his stablemate.

Morning Assembly was sent out some way out by Davy Condon but when Inish Island loomed up he looked booked for second.

However, he showed a willing attitude to eventually run out an impressive winner at 14-1.

Fahy last won at the highest level with Mariah Rollins in the Durkan New Homes Novices' Chase.

Fahy said: "We've had such a slack season you worry that people aren't going to keep a bit of faith in you.

"It was down to the ground at Fairyhouse, he wasn't firing at the time and we didn't know where to go.

"I feared the worst when Inish Island came alongside but I knew he was running a big race.

"He kept going in the last 200 yards and he's a dour stayer. He'll definitely be going over fences next season and he'll respect the fences a bit more.

"I've had a few good ones down the years and he`s up there with them, but he`s still got to win a few more big races before he`d be the best I've had."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport