Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

REPORT

Wales WAL 1

Northern Ireland NIR 0

REPORT

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Brien's Battle for Kentucky

Published 04/05/2013 | 05:00

WHILE Aidan O'Brien's main focus will be on Newmarket this weekend, the trainer's thoughts will turn to the Kentucky Derby this evening when his Lines Of Battle lines up at Churchill Downs.

The Ballydoyle supremo is keen to land America's premier race and this season's candidate travels across the Atlantic with high hopes.

An American-bred son of War Front, the three-year-old showed his class and ability to handle an artificial surface when winning the UAE Derby at Meydan in March.

Ryan Moore has made the trip Stateside for the ride, although the jockey will immediately jet back to Newmarket for the second day of the Guineas meeting.

"He's in good form, obviously nobody knows about (how he'll handle) the dirt until he runs on it," O'Brien said. "We were very happy with him in Dubai. He's usually a fast breaker, he travels well and we're looking forward to the race."

Heading the betting for the 10 furlong contest is Shug McGaughey's Florida Derby hero Orb, the mount of Joel Rosario.

Having been sidelined for almost a month by injury, jockey John Velazquez returned to competitive action earlier this week and he partners the Todd Pletcher-trained Verrazano in the feature.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport