Sport Horse Racing

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Nina to saddle first runner at Gowran Park

Published 05/03/2013 | 05:00

Nina Carberry: Joining training ranks
Nina Carberry: Joining training ranks

Nina Carberry is set to have her first runner as a trainer at Gowran Park on Saturday with Peak Raider.

Carberry will continue to ride as an amateur; Peak Raider used to be trained by her legendary father, Tommy, who rode Cheltenham Gold Cup and Grand National winners.

Her brothers, Paul and Philip, are jockeys and Nina herself has had great success in that sphere.

She won the 2011 Irish Grand National on Organisedconfusion, trained by her uncle, Arthur Moore, and has won four times at the Cheltenham Festival.

She tweeted: "Delighted to have my first entry as trainer this Saturday. Hope he runs well."

Meanwhile, Aidan O'Brien has issued an upbeat bulletin on his dual Derby winner Camelot, which has recovered well from a serious bout of colic.

Having won the 2,000 Guineas, as well as the Classics at Epsom and the Curragh, he was sent off a short price to complete the Triple Crown in the St Leger but came off second best to Encke.

He then trailed home in seventh in the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, but remains in training as a four-year-old. "He's in full work, we're delighted with him really, he's made a good recovery," O'Brien explained.

O'Brien's Classic crop looks strong again, with Kingsbarns and Cristoforo Colombo leading the team. "If the ground is fast, he's (Cristoforo Colombo) going to really relish it. He never got it last year," said O'Brien. "Kingsbarns is very well and he won't mind (ground-wise)."

Frankel has had his first mare scanned in foal at Juddmonte Farms' Banstead Manor Stud in Newmarket. The mare in question is the former David Wachman-trained Chrysanthemum, a dual Group Three winner and third in the Group One Pretty Polly Stakes at the Curragh in 2011.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport