Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Mullins keeps faith in Sir Des

Published 02/02/2013 | 16:06

Sir Des Champs has come up short in both his starts in senior company this term, but Willie Mullins remains optimistic that a return to Cheltenham in March will bring about the necessary improvement in the one-time Betfred Gold Cup favourite.

A winner at the Festival for the past two years, the Gigginstown Stud-owned seven-year-old was easily held when second to Flemenstar on his Punchestown reappearance, before posting a more encouraging effort to overcome early fencing errors when staying on for a close fourth in the Lexus Chase.

"I haven't lost faith in him," Mullins said. "We have the Irish Hennessy (next Saturday). He's been good at Cheltenham the two times he has raced there, so I am hoping it will all click into place on the day."

At 5/1, Sir Des Champs is still the clear second favourite for Gold Cup glory behind Bobs Worth, while he shares Hennessy favouritism with Flemenstar at 7/4.

Meanwhile, Tom Cooper has confirmed that Forpadydeplasterer will run in the Derrygrath Chase at Clonmel on Thursday ahead of a tilt at the Aintree Grand National, though Arthur Moore has revealed that his 2011 Irish Grand National winner Organisedconfusion will not run again this term after picking up an injury.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport