Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Kingman shows devastating turn of foot to land St James's Palace Stakes

Tom Peacock and Chris Wilson

Published 17/06/2014 | 16:53

Kingman ridden by James Doyle on their way to victory in The St James's Palace Stakes during Day One of the 2014 Royal Ascot Meeting
Kingman ridden by James Doyle on their way to victory in The St James's Palace Stakes during Day One of the 2014 Royal Ascot Meeting

Kingman proved much too good for old rival Night Of Thunder with a scintillating display in the St James's Palace Stakes at Royal Ascot.

  • Go To

The John Gosden-trained Kingman was a hot favourite for the Qipco 2000 Guineas after blowing away Richard Hannon's Night Of Thunder in the Greenham Stakes, but the latter turned the form around with a 40-1 victory on the Rowley Mile.

With Kingman having since taken the Irish 2,000 Guineas, he was a heavily supported 8-11 market leader for the third clash and was settled towards the rear by James Doyle while Richard Hughes set out to make all the running aboard Night Of Thunder.

Just for a fleeting moment it appeared Kingman might struggle to reel in the leader turning into the home straight, but Doyle cut a confident figure throughout and once asked to extend his mount made up the ground in a matter of strides.

He began to hang towards the rail in the last half-furlong, but it made no difference to the result, with the odds-on shot passing the post two and a quarter lengths ahead.

Night Of Thunder ran a perfectly respectable race in second, but was no match for the winner on the day.

Outstrip bounced back from his disappointing Newmarket effort to finish third.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport