Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jockey John Barry gets 11 day ban for overuse of whip

Published 04/07/2013 | 18:00

Irish amateur John Barry was given a hefty suspension when in action at Perth.

  • Go To

Riding City Line for County Dublin trainer Karl Thornton in the the Watch All Scottish Racing Live On Racing UK Novices' Handicap Hurdle, Barry was beaten three-quarters of a length into second by Morning Time (4-1).

 

However, the stewards found he had used his whip above the permitted level and he will be notified of the dates for an 11-day ban.

 

Winning Scottish trainer Lucinda Russell and her jockey Peter went on to double their tally with Lord Of Drums (7-2) in the Book Your Christmas Party At Perth Racecourse Novices' Handicap Chase.

 

Gordon Elliott continued where he left off on Wednesday with yet another winner.

 

Following the Meath trainer's 188-1 treble on Armed Forces Raceday at the Scone Palace track, it was just the one on Independence Day.

 

Crookstown, who was assisted by the perennial champion jockey Tony McCoy, went off the 2-1 favourite for the Abba Gold Evening On July 30th Maiden Hurdle but had to ride his luck a little.

 

Stuart Crawford's Now I Win Again had sadly gone wrong before the final circuit, meaning the final flight was bypassed.

 

McCoy had appeared to be holding Crookstown together for some time before then, and was all-out to get the ex-pointer home half a length clear on his hurdling debut.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport