Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Gowran ground conditions key to Winters decision

Keith Hamer

Published 11/02/2013 | 16:07

MICHAEL Winters will closely monitor weather conditions before deciding whether to run Rebel Fitz and Missunited in the Red Mills Trial Hurdle at Gowran Park on Saturday.

The County Cork trainer reports both horses in fine shape after their mid-season break but he will not risk them on testing conditions.

"The weather forecast doesn't look too good. We had desperate rain on Sunday night so the ground might come very heavy," said Winters.

"Both horses are in great order, they are fit and healthy, but I wouldn't want to pulverise them.

"We'd love to get a run into them and there are other races to think about.

"There's a race at Mallow (Cork) and the owners might want to go to Cheltenham.

"If the going's bad we won't run them but if they put Gowran off for a week we might have another look.

"Both horses are in great order and they are fit and healthy."

Four of the 12 entries for this Grade Two contest over two miles are from the Willie Mullins stable - Midnight Game, So Young, Thousand Stars and Zaidpour.

The list is completed by Arnaud, Noble Prince, De Valira, Fosters Cross, Hisaabaat and Rory O'Moore.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport